Wests 2018-19 season closed on April 12 with a fantastic evening at the Queensland Cricketers Club.

The Doggies celebrated a great season for the club which saw Wests finish third in the Queensland Cricket premier club championship and net a premiership for the Women’s First Grade team, a premiership for the Girls Youth team and the Minor Premiership for the Men’s First Grade team. Our Lords Taverners team were runners up the and our Men’s Fourth Grade made it to their semi-finals.

Dirk and Denise Tazelaar were recognised on the night for their several decades of service to the club with induction as Life Members of Western Suburbs District Cricket Club. Their contribution and commitment to the club has been consistent and inspirational. Thanks Dirk and Denise!

Special thanks to our coaches for the 2018-19 season John Buchanan (Men’s First Grade), Ben Maddox (Women’s First Grade), George Seaward (Lords Taverners & the Girls Youth team), Wayne Anderson (Women’s Second Grade), Simon Bussey (Women’s First Grade Assistant Coach), Jodie Fields (Women’s Wicket Keeping and Batting Coach), Steve Paulsen (Men’s Assistant Coach) and Dirk Tazelaar (Men’s Assistant Coach & Women’s Bowling Coach).

Thanks also to the club committee for your tireless efforts during the season to keep the show ticking away. And a big thank you to club President Jon Dooley for keeping us all pointed in the right direction.

Major Award Winners

Owen Driscol Memorial Trophy
Most Dismissals
Isaiah Snell (41)

Jodie Fields Trophy
Emerging Female Player
Olivia Hartland

Jack McLaughlin Trophy
Emerging Male Player
Lachlan Bell

Glen Stirling Memorial Trophy
Best First Year Player
Jonte Pattison

Mel Bulow Trophy
Best Female All-rounder
Grace Harris

Mostyn Eales Memorial Trophy
Best Male All-rounder
Jonte Pattison

GF Stafford Trophy
Best Bowling Average
Nick Purser (52 at 9.00)

Steven Farmer Memorial Trophy
Most Wickets
Nick Purser (52 Wickets)

David Welch Memorial Trophy
Best Batting Average
Grace Harris (584 at 116.80)

BH Shaw Memorial Trophy
Best Batting Aggregate
Sam Truloff (1,305 runs)

Roger Hartigan Trophy
Best Team
Men’s Fourth Grade

Kirby Short Trophy
Youth Girls Player of the Year
Naiya Varidel

Maurice Gray Club Spirit Award
Mick Varidel
Peter Frew

Carl Rackemann Shield
Male Cricketer of the Year
Nick Purser

Dirk Tazelaar Trophy
Female Cricketer of the Year
Kirby Short

Katherine Raymont Medal
Best and Fairest Female Player
Meagan Dixon

Bob Spence Medal
Best and Fairest Male Player
Sam Truloff

Team Award Winners

Paul Pink Shield – Trophy Winners
Batting Award – Naiya Varidel (272 runs at 90.67)
Bowling Award – Olivia Hartland (7 wickets at 4.43)

Lord’s Taverners – Trophy Winners
5 Wickets in an innings – Lachlan Schubert
Century – Cameron Hunt, Lachlan Bell
Batting Award (Aggregate) – Lachlan Bell (425 runs at 42.5)
Batting Award (Average) – Cameron Hunt (372 runs at 53.14)
Bowling Award (Aggregate) – Lachlan Schubert (16 wickets at 16.31)
Bowling Award (Average) – Tom Whitney (13 wickets at 13.08)

Women’s Second Grade – Trophy Winners
Batting Award – Lesley Meadows (424 runs at 38.55)
Bowling Award – Grace Juriansz (15 wickets at 18.80)

Sub-districts – Trophy Winners
5 Wickets in an innings – Krushanth Thanabalasingam
Bowling Award – Krushanth Thanabalasingam (26 wickets at 13.96)
Batting Award – Thomas Barker (212 runs at 21.20)

6th Grade – Trophy Winners
5 Wickets in an innings – Luke Donaldson, Chris Saunders, Matt Dyson, Nick Purser x5 .
Century – Ajay Samvedi (110)
Batting Award (Aggregate) – Ajay Samvedi (361 runs at 25.79)
Batting Award (Average) – Matt Dyson (307 runs at 34.11)
Bowling Award – Nick Purser (52 wickets at 9.00 – 6th grade record – 52 wickets in a season)

5th Grade – Trophy Winners
5 Wickets in an innings – Max Cartwright, Steve Gramenz
Centuries – Christian Sciacca (120*), William Fozard (115)
Batting Award – Robert Butler (502 runs at 33.47)
Bowling Award – Steve Gramenz (27 wickets at 22.26)

4th Grade – Trophy Winners
5 Wickets in an innings – Nathan Kerr, Conor Bell, Luke Thompson
Century – Kye O’Sullivan (173)
Batting Award – Kye O’Sullivan (295 runs at 59)
Bowling Award – Luke Thompson (28 wickets at 13.75)

3rd Grade – Trophy Winners
5 Wickets in an innings – Luke Penn, Mark Lehmann, Nathan Kerr.
Centuries – Trent Kenny (114), Trent Kenny (102)
Batting Award – Trent Kenny (475 runs at 36.54)
Bowling Award – Luke Penn (22 wickets at 20.82)

2nd Grade – Trophy Winners
5 Wickets in an innings – William Crook, Nicholas Walden, Andrew Tazelaar, Zac Beveridge x2.
Centuries – Mitchell Headrick (115), Harrison Jones (188,104*), Isaiah Snell (103).
Batting Award (Aggregate) – Harrison Jones (717 runs at 55.15)
Batting Award (Average) – Andrew Tazelaar (419 runs at 59.86)
Bowling Award (Aggregate) – Zac Beveridge (40 wickets at 21.83)
Bowling Award (Average) – Andrew Tazelaar (20 wickets at 17.70)

Women’s First Grade – Trophy Winners
5 Wickets in an innings – Annie Wikman (inc. Hat trick), Grace Harris.
Centuries – Grace Harris (200, 144,117*), Kirby Short (130).
Batting Award – Grace Harris (584 runs at 116.80)
Bowling Award – Megan Dixon (27 wickets at 19.48)

1st Grade – Trophy Winners
5 Wickets in an innings – Paddy Dooley, Blake Edwards.
Centuries – Sam Truloff (104,167,192), Ben Maynard (122), Steven Paulsen (115), Jonte Pattison (105,101), Anthony Atkinson (105), Andrew Tazelaar (100)
Batting Award – Sam Truloff (1305 runs at 52.20)
Bowling Award – Jonte Pattison (37 wickets at 18.22)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here